Bestweb-service.net domain name registration scam

December 22nd, 2008 by David E. Williams of the Health business blog

The Chinese Internet domain name scammers are at it again. See Asia Domain Name Registration scam and Fexon Technology Ltd. Internet Registration Center scam for a description of what’s going on. The basic idea is to scare people into buying lots of extensions of their existing domain name at outrageous prices.

I received a slightly updated version of the scam today. The “Confidentiality Notice” is a new feature –but the scammers don’t seem to understand what confidentiality means:

Subject: About “Mppllc” Intellectual Property Rights (TO CEO & Principal)

From: Nicholas

Date: 2:36 AM

To: [my email address]

Dear CEO & Manager,

We are a professional internet consultant organization in Asia, which mainly deal with the Longhua companies’ domain name registration and internet intellectual property right protection. Currently, we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company.

On Dec 19, 2008, we received an application formally, one company named “Longhua International Holdings Ltd” wanted to applied for the internet trademark “Mppllc ” and some domain names through our body.

During our preliminary investigation, we found that these domain names’ keyword and internet trademark is identical with your trademark. I wonder whether you consigned Longhua International Holdings Ltd to register these domain names through us or not? Or is Longhua International Holdings Ltd your business partner or distributor in Asia? Currently, we have postponed this application of this company temporarily already. In order to deal with this issue better, please let the principal make a confirmation with me by telephone or email ASAP

______________________

Best regards,
Nicholas  Chen
IT Director
—————————————————————————–
Auditing Department
Tel:  +852 9566 0103   +852 9566 0496
Fax: +852 9566 0302
Email:nicholas@bestweb-service.org
Web: Http:// bestweb-service.net
—————————————————————————-
Confidentiality Notice. This is a letter for confirmation. If the mentioned third party is your business partner or distributor in Asia please DO NOT reply. We will automatically confirm application from your business partner after this audit procedure.we have to notify you,and our registration organization are not responsible for any dispute questions about trade mark,intellectual property nor patent after they succeed in registration.hope you can understand.thank you.
—————————————————————————-


Posted in Announcements, Entrepreneurs, International | 4 Comments »

4 Responses

  1. Jeff Tollers Says:

    I just received the same thing today.

    What should I do?

  2. David E. Williams of the Health business blog Says:

    Simply ignore it. For more details, you may wish to read the comments on http://www.healthbusinessblog.com/?p=1620 and http://www.healthbusinessblog.com/?p=1669

  3. Email Domain Net Trademark Registration Scam Says:

    [...] first I took this quite seriously however after a bit of googling I found that I am not the only one who has received an email like this. Anyway, I went along with [...]

  4. Hover Coupon Code Says:

    That’s sad that there are so many scams on the Internet. =(

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.